New chairwoman of Maxima Grupė audit committee appointed

Effective 1 February, the supervisory board of Maxima Grupė has appointed Irena Petruškevičienė as an independent member of the company’s audit committee, of which she will also be chairwoman. She replaces Kasparas Žebrauskas, who led the committee until now.

Irena Petruškevičienė has more than 20 years of experience in the field of auditing, acquired in Lithuania and at international organizations. She worked for many years at international institutions including the European Court of Auditors, the European Commission and the UN World Food Programme. At ISM University of Management and Economics she heads the Financial Strategy & Management Programme.

Other members of the audit committee are Jurgita Kirvaitienė, who is managing director of the electronic money institution Glocash Payment, and Rytis Jezepčikas, a member of the board of Vilniaus Prekyba.

Kasparas Žebrauskas decided to leave his position on the audit committee due to the heavy demands of his other professional activities.

The audit committee of Maxima Grupė was established last year with the aim to strengthen corporate governance of the company. The main functions of audit committee include: oversight of the process of preparing and auditing the annual financial statements, review and monitoring of the independence of the external auditor, and monitoring of internal quality control and internal audit at the company. The company’s audit committee is to be comprised of three members (two of whom are independent) elected for a four-year term.

Back to all news